Firangi Panjiri [No Bake Cookies ]


The idea was conceived when I was thinking of making Sol Kadhi, a maharashtrian drink. For this I needed Coconut milk, which I wanted to make at home. Here is my train of thoughts, or basically what led to what’s in the making.

First me says: I need to make sol kadhi.

Second me says: But you’ll need Coconut milk for that dude!

First me: Oh, I can buy that from supermarket. I’ll go to Star Bazar. I’ll ask wife if she wants something from there

Second me: I asked her, she doesn’t want anything.

First  me: Hmmmm….cut the crap! I’ll make fresh Coconut milk.

                    Second me: Dude, but you’ll waste a lot of dry coconut [I don’t know what it is called, the one that is left after taking out the milk]

First me: Lets make coconut cookies!

But when both First me and Second me made the cookies, the wife said Nice panjiri !”. Hence, the name ‘Firangi Panjiri’.

Ingredients

  1. 1/2 cup – After coconut milk extract [or dry coconut shavings]
  2. 1/2 cup – milk
  3. 4 table spoon jaggery or brown sugar or white [I’m not a racist, yea but colour does matter in sugar!]
  4. 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  5. 1/4 rolled oats or Wheat Bran flakes [I used ’em].
  6. 5 -7 chopped almonds
The left over after extracting coconut milk.
The left over after extracting coconut milk.

How many does that make?

I guess 4-5 cookies!

Awesome! Now what??

  1. Keep a pan on the stove for heating. Add the milk and bring it to boil. Bring the heat to low.
  2. Add all the ingredients.
  3. Keep mixing till it forms a nice thick consistent paste. This is when you switch off the heat.
  4. Place a sheet of aluminium foil on a flat surface. You can grease it with oil or butter or ghee. Anything is fine really.
  5. Drop spoon full of paste on to the sheet, spacing it evenly.
  6. Let it cool till room temperature.
  7. Refrigerate the cookies in an airtight container for a day or two.
wpid-img_20150428_213347.jpg
Warm paste on sheet
wpid-img_20150428_220741.jpg
The Final product to be placed in refrigeration

And now EAT, but do not forget to share!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nidhi Mittal says:

    The way you wrote, I liked the most… it is making the recipe reading, very interesting and of course this sweet dish is looking tempting….:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

